2011 Airports Going Green Award

Winnipeg Airports Authority is honoured to have been named a recipient of the 2011 Airports Going Green award.

This prestigious award, handed out by the Chicago Department of Aviation (CDA), recognizes the value of each project, as well as the project sponsors' outstanding leadership in pursuit of sustainability within the aviation industry.

The award, made from reclaimed wood and pictured above, was presented on October 31, 2011 by Commissioner Andolino at the 4th Annual Airports Going Green Conference luncheon in Chicago.

As a partner with the community, WAA has committed to the principles of sustainable development. Our objective is to minimize impacts on the environment from daily operations and development through continuous improvement of environmental performance in a manner consistent with our overall mission and goals. The new Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport was designed and built in accordance with LEED® Green Building Rating System Standards.

LEED Green Building Rating System
The Canadian Green Building Council’s Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED®) program is a voluntary rating system for sustainable buildings. LEED recognizes leading edge buildings that incorporate design, construction and operational practices that combine healthy, high-quality and high-performance advantages with reduced environmental impacts.

In general, buildings that achieve a LEED certification rating are more energy efficient, have better indoor air quality, generate less greenhouse gas emissions, reduce waste sent to landfills and require environmental protection during construction, when compared to average buildings.

Certification Ratings
The LEED program works by awarding credits when specific performance criteria are met. Based on the number of credits earned, a project is given one of the following certification ratings - Certified, Silver, Gold or Platinum. WAA is targeting a LEED Silver Certification rating for the design and construction of the terminal building.

Performance Categories
There are five LEED performance categories under which credits can be achieved: Sustainable Sites, Water Efficiency, Energy and Atmosphere, Materials and Resources and Indoor Environmental Quality. An additional category Innovation in Design, addresses sustainable building expertise, exceptional building performance or design and operations that exceed LEED requirements.

1. Sustainable Sites (SS)

The intent of the Sustainable Sites performance category is to encourage project site selection, landscaping and design strategies that use land more effectively and minimize environmental impacts related to construction and operational activities.

  • Greenspace – an area greater than the terminal footprint
  • Drought resistant native grasses and plants

2. Water Efficiency (WE)

The Water Efficiency performance category encourages strategies that reduce the volume of potable water used for landscape irrigation and facility operations.

  • Native grasses will not be watered after a 2-year establishment period
  • Low-flow and infrared fixtures

3. Energy and Atmosphere (EA)

The Energy and Atmosphere category encourages strategies that reduce the depletion of non-renewable energy resources (i.e.: fossil fuels), mainly emissions of local, regional and global air pollutants, and encourage the selection and use of renewable energy sources (i.e.: hydro-electric power) with lower environmental impacts.

  • Day-lighting and energy-efficient artificial lighting
  • Radiant heating and cooling floor system
  • Electric bridge equipment vs. diesel-powered equipment

4. Materials and Resources (MR)

The intent of the Materials and Resources performance category is to encourage design strategies that reduce and reuse material resources, reduce construction waste and encourage the selection of building materials that are more environmentally-friendly.

  • Recycling program includes paper, metals, plastic, glass and cardboard
  • Durable, high quality materials have a longer life-span and require less maintenance.

5. Indoor Environmental Quality (EQ)

The Indoor Environmental Quality performance category provides specific guidance for enhancing indoor environmental quality through enhanced design, thoughtful selection of materials and careful construction practices to reduce or eliminate sources causing poor indoor air quality while providing high-quality ventilation.

  • CO2 and VOC air quality sensors
  • Low-VOC materials used for interior finishes (i.e.: flooring, carpeting, paint, sealants, adhesives)

If you would like more information on the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport Terminal Building project, visit our website

For more information about the Airports Going Green award, visit their website

Tagged: Winnipeg Airports Authority, James Armstrong Richardson International Airport, Manitoba, Canada, green