Our people

Across our organization, which is made up of three subsidiaries, people are what fuel our success and motivate our future. Meet the people behind Winnipeg Airports Authority.

WAA subsidiaries

YWG Inc.

YWG Inc. is responsible for operating, maintaining, and managing Winnipeg Richardson International Airport. This subsidiary is comprised of three distinct areas: Airport Terminal and Groundside Operations, Airside Operations, and Operations Compliance, all of which support the day-to-day operations at the airport. YWG Inc. plays a critical role in delivering excellent customer service and creating smooth airport experiences.

Airport City Winnipeg

Airport City Winnipeg focuses on planning and overseeing commercial activities to further develop the airport campus and enhance customer experiences. Real estate, concessions, and marketing belong to this subsidiary, along with air service development. Airport City Winnipeg is responsible for building relationships with airlines, air carriers, and industry partners to help strengthen our community's connection to the rest of the world. This subsidiary helps grow air transportation opportunities for both passengers and cargo.

Winnipeg Airport Services Corp. (WASCO)

WASCO's main goal is to seek opportunities to provide support services at other airports across Canada. This subsidiary is in the business of helping airports run smoothly and efficiently in areas such as operations, management, maintenance, and technical solutions. The group is responsible for sharing their passion for aviation and knowledge of the industry to help other airports grow and best serve their communities. To learn more, visit the WASCO website.

Winnipeg Airports Authority

WAA Executive Team

Barry Rempel
President & Chief Executive Officer, WAA

Pascal Bélanger
Executive Vice President, Airport & Commercial Operations

WAA Management Team

Tyler MacAfee
Vice President, Communications & Government Relations

Nicole Stefaniuk, CPA, CA
Vice President, Finance & Administration

Scott Marohn
Vice President, Innovation & Customer Services

Paul Forde
Director, Air Service & Cargo Development

Trevor Strome
Director, Digital Airport Solutions

Dave Zubricki
Director, Marketing

Andrew Curwain
Director, Airport Planning & Infrastructure


YWG Inc.

The expertise and skillset at Winnipeg Richardson International Airport focuses on facility performance, infrastructure, airport operations, emergency response, and more. This is where innovation inside the terminal and on the airfield related to operations happens daily.

YWG Inc. Management Team

Pascal Bélanger
Executive Vice President, Airport & Commercial Operations

Darryl Dowd
Vice President, Operations

Frank Johnson
Director, Airport Security

Tara Hull
Director, Operations Compliance

Airport City Winnipeg

Airport City Winnipeg is the subsidiary that leverages and develops our assets for the benefit of the community, helping us continue to lead transportation innovation and growth throughout the province.

Airport City Winnipeg Management Team

Pascal Bélanger
Executive Vice President, Airport & Commercial Operations

Robert Bachart
Director, Real Estate

Winnipeg Airport Services Corp. (WASCO)

WASCO utilizes its aviation expertise and resources to provide industry-leading, innovative, and cost-effective solutions at more than 33 airports across the country, including in Canada's North.

WASCO Management Team

Mike O'Gorman
Managing Director

Winnipeg Airports Authority Board of Directors

Nominated by the City of Winnipeg

Scott Penman
Corporate Director

Kimberley Gilson, LL.B.
Corporate Director

James Wilson
Vice President, Corporate Development
Arctic Gateway Group LP

Nominated by The Assiniboia Chamber of Commerce

Adam Kilfoyle, CPA, CGA
Managing Partner
Heartland CPAs

Nominated by the Government of Canada

Don Boitson
President & COO
Longview Aviation Capital

Kenneth Grower
Corporate Director

Nominated by the Province of Manitoba

Peter Kaufmann
Vice President, Sales & Leasing
Capital Commercial Real Estate Services Inc.

Nominated by the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce

B.J. Reid, FCPA, FCA
Corporate Director

Sangeet Bhatia, CPA, CA, CMC
Deloitte Inc.

Nominated by Economic Development Winnipeg

Ian Smart
Executive Vice President, Business Transformation
New Flyer Industries

Nominated by the Rural Municipality of Rosser

Rob Penner
President & CEO
Bison Transport

Appointed by the Winnipeg Airports Authority Board

Brita Chell, FCPA, FCA (Chair)
Corporate Director

Donna Price, FCPA, FCGA
Corporate Director

Susan Dawes (Vice Chair)
Myers LLP

Chair Emeritus

Arthur Mauro
Corporate Director

Board Committees

Audit Committee

  • B.J. Reid, FCPA, FCA (Chair)
  • Don Boitson
  • Adam Kilfoyle
  • Scott Penman
  • Rob Penner
  • Ian Smart
  • Kenneth Grower

Governance Committee

  • Kimberley Gilson, LL.B. (Chair)
  • Sangeet Bhatia, CPA, CA, CMC
  • Donna Price, FCPA, FCGA
  • Brita Chell, FCPA, FCA
  • Peter Kaufmann
  • Susan Dawes
  • James Wilson

Community Consultative Committee

The Community Consultative Committee provides for effective dialogue and dissemination on matters relating to Winnipeg Richardson International Airport, including airport planning and plans, operational aspects of the airport, and municipal concerns. For more information about the Community Consultative Committee, please contact Andrea Borys, Executive Assistant to the Board of Directors.

Community Consultative Committee members

Loren Remillard
The Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce

Tracey Maconachie
Deputy Minister of Economic Development and Jobs

Colin Ferguson
Travel Manitoba

Dayna Spiring
Economic Development Winnipeg

Mike Ruta
City of Winnipeg

Sarah Thiele
Deputy Minister of Infrastructure

Jeff Traeger
United Food & Commercial Workers Union

Wendell Wiebe
Manitoba Aerospace Association

Ron Evans
Indigenous Relations

Chuck Davidson
Manitoba Chambers of Commerce

Barry Rempel
WAA representative

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By using this site, you agree to these cookies being set. To learn more, read our Privacy Policy.
Learn MoreAgree